This feature is currently in Beta. For more information, contact your account manager.
Introducing Journeys Two! Your new visually dynamic campaign builder!
If you're looking for Journeys One documentation, click here.
Journeys Two replaces the flows from Journeys 1 with a smaller set of steps that each performs its own unique function. Flows contained controls for delays, send time, branching, experiments, and actions. Each one of those has been broken out into a separate step in Journeys 2. This not only makes it easier to visualize what is happening, but also gives you a lot more flexibility when it comes to combining the steps in different ways. For example, you can first include a branching step to split up contacts by geo, and then run an experiment immediately after without adding significant delays.
One exception, one time sends are still handled with a flow. Journeys Two only replaces flows meant for longer workflows.
To learn more about how to use these step types and when, see Journeys walkthrough
- Entry: The segment that triggers journey entry (the entry logic works in the same way as triggered flows).
- Exit rules: Now includes exit criteria, which can be defined centrally here for the entire journey. When contacts meet the exit rule, they will be removed from the journey, independent of where in the journey they are at that moment.
- Actions: Works similarly to flows. The look and feel is different (, but the settings should be familiar.
- Delays: Contain all time-related settings, including time of day settings. Delays can now be configured in days, hours and minutes.
- Branching splits: Equivalent to rule-based branching in Journeys 1 and works in a very similar way, routing contacts based on segment membership.
- Experiment splits: Used to define a set of variants and (optionally) a holdout group.
- Joins: Allows you to combine contacts from different branches and/or variants so that they will follow the same path again.
Journeys Two is based on a visual builder. You add steps in the graph and configure all the settings in the sidebar for each step. Actions and delays can be copied/moved/inserted, and all steps can be removed (there are some constraints around when splits can be removed).
When building a Journeys Two journey, your journey will be saved even when the steps are not fully configured. For example, you can add an action node as a placeholder before you have your template or subject line ready, and then return to fill in the details later. You can sketch out the structure of your journey before you have your content and segmentation available. The changes that you make are saved automatically.
There are two modes when viewing a Journeys Two journey.
- Edit mode: Build the journey and configure all the settings.
- Review mode: Review all the settings without any risk of modifying settings. Team members that only have view permissions can still see the journey configuration. This is also where you make lifecycle changes: publish, stop, drain, archive, and copy.
Journeys Two introduces versions, which allow you to make large changes to a journey after it's been published in a safe way. A new version is created by selecting
Edit for a running journey. You can then proceed to make changes to the structure or settings of the new draft version over any number of sessions before you determine that it's ready to be published. At that point, all the changes are published as once, and new contacts will go through the new version, while contacts who were already in the previous version will continue in that version until they exit. You can always go back to view a previous version in review mode. The global journey settings cannot be modified between versions: entry segment, journey name and exit rules.
Ready to get going?
Head over to our Journeys walkthrough to start building!
Updated 3 months ago